1987 Revised Classification Criteria

Rheumatoid Arthritis (1987 Revised Classification Criteria)

  1. Morning stiffness (in/around joints, at least 1 hour before maximal improvement)
  2. Arthritis (swelling) of 3 or more joint areas (observed by a physician)
  3. Symmetric arthritis (swelling, NOT bony overgrowth)
  4. Arthritis of Hand joints (wrists, MCPs or PIPs)
  5. Rheumatoid nodules
  6. Rheumatoid factor (serum)
  7. Radiographic changes (erosions and/or periarticular osteopenia in hand/wrist joints)


≥ 4 of the above 7 criteria. Criteria 1-4 must have been present for at least 6 weeks.


Arnett et al. The American Rheumatism Association 1987 revised criteria for the classification of rheumatoid arthritis. Arthritis Rheum 1988;31:315-324

ACR/EULAR (2010) Classification Criteria for RA

Symptom Duration (as reported by patient)Points
< 6 Weeks0
> 6 Weeks1

Joint DistributionPoints
1 large joint0
2-10 large joints1
1-3 small joints (with or without involvement of large joints)2
4-10 small joints (with or without involvement of large joints)3
> 10 joints (at least 1 small joint)5

RF- and CCP-0
Low RF+ or CCP+2
High RF+ or CCP+3

Acute Phase ReactantsPoints
Normal ESR or CRP0
Abnormal ESR or CRP1

RF: rheumatoid factor. CCP: anti-citrullinated citric peptide.  ESR: erythrocyte sedimentation rate. CRP: C-reactive protein. Low: < 3 x upper limit of normal (ULN).  High: > 3 x ULN


Patients who have at least 1 swollen joint, and not better explained by another disease to be applied. A score ≥ 6 points is required for classification as definite RA.


Aletaha et al. 2010 Rheumatoid arthritis classification criteria: an American College of Rheumatology/European League Against Rheumatism collaborative initiative. Ann Rheum Dis 2010;69:1580-1588.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Images